Community Events

Hanging up the Fit for Life reins, starting new community position in Pottstown

miica1

Mercury Fit for Life director Michilea Patterson, second from the left, walks with other community members during The Mercury Mile.

By Michilea Patterson, The Mercury

This week, I say goodbye to the community as the director of The Mercury Fit for Life initiative.

parade1542

Mercury Fit for Life reporter Michilea Patterson bicycles in the Pottstown 4th of July parade.

My last day at Fit for Life is Thursday and starting next month, I’ll be the community engagement coordinator for PEAK which stands for Pottstown Early Action for Kindergarten Readiness. The mission of the initiative is to make sure Pottstown children have access to early childhood education opportunities to prepare them for kindergarten. Although I’m hanging up the Fit for Life reins, my position at PEAK will keep me in Pottstown. I’m excited that I will continue to work with organizations and families in the area.

One of the best parts of Fit for Life has been getting to know people in the community. The Mercury Mile has been a great engagement tool. Since 2014, these free community walks have been happening weekly spring through fall. I invite everyone to join me this week for the last Mercury Mile walk I will organize as the Fit for Life director. The walk will begin noon Wednesday from the company office of Janney Montgomery Scott LLC. The address is 2108 E. High St. and is near the First Avenue intersection. The rain date is Thursday at noon.

This transition from Fit for Life is a bittersweet one. I’m eager to begin working with the PEAK team and their community partners but at the same time, it will be very sad to leave Fit for Life. I helped to start this initiative more than three years ago which was made possible through a partnership between The Mercury and the Pottstown Area Health & Wellness Foundation. It has evolved into a full community resource that’s free to use. There has been articles on various healthy living topics, free community events and a website full of information.

I was pleasantly amazed by how much support Fit for Life received from the community. It always makes me smile big when someone tells me they follow the initiative. I want to thank everyone for making Fit for Life into what it is today. The many community partners of Fit for Life led to its incredible evolution. Although I am the director of Fit for Life, the initiative never would have succeeded without supporters.

Whether it was taking time out of your work day to walk at lunch, reading the Fit for Life articles every week, following the initiative on social media, attending Zumba in the park and the other fitness events, or allowing me to pester you with questions so people could be aware of the healthy opportunities in the area; I appreciate your support and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Please continue to visit the Fit for Life website at www.pottsmercfit4lfie.com. Throughout the week, I will be posting memorable Fit for Life articles, videos and photos.

Leave a Reply

